How to get a security guard license in Hawaii

Hawaii licenses unarmed security guards individually. The credential is the Guard Employee Registration (registration with the Board; a separate principal 'guard license' exists for guard agency principals), issued by the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA), Professional and Vocational Licensing, Board of Private Detectives and Guards (HRS Chapter 463).

Licensing agencyHawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA), Professional and Vocational Licensing, Board of Private Detectives and Guards (HRS Chapter 463) official source
Credential for unarmed guardsGuard Employee Registration (registration with the Board; a separate principal 'guard license' exists for guard agency principals) official source
Credential for armed guardsNo separate state guard credential found; guards carrying a firearm must hold a county-issued permit to acquire a firearm and meet HRS 134-2(g) (HRS 463-10.5(e)) official source
Minimum age, unarmed18 (HRS 463-10.5(a)) official source
Training, unarmed8 hours of classroom instruction from a Board-approved instructor before the first day of service, plus a written test and 4 hours of supervised on-the-job training (HRS 463-10.5(c)); continuing education of 4 hours (statute text says annually; the DCCA form says a 4-hour course within each three-year renewal period) official source
Background checkYes: FBI and State of Hawaii criminal history record checks through electronic fingerprinting at Fieldprint; application must be filed within 30 days of fingerprinting official source
State feeUSD 81 to USD 151 depending on timing (DCCA form fee table by point in the three-year cycle: e.g. USD 81 = USD 10 application + USD 54 registration + USD 17 Compliance Resolution Fund; USD 151 and USD 116 include partial triennial renewal fees. FBI and state check fees are paid separately to Fieldprint (amount not stated)) official source
Renewal3 years: renew by 30 June every three years (2021, 2024, 2027...), regardless of issue date (DCCA form) official source
Working while the application is pendingNo: the applicant must register and meet the training requirements prior to acting as a guard (HRS 463-10.5(a)). Not stated that a temporary permit exists official source

Official Hawaii application page

Checked against official Hawaii sources on Oct 18, 2026. Rules change: confirm with the licensing agency before you apply. This page lists only facts we could confirm on an official page.

Open security guard jobs in Hawaii

193 listings right now: see all.