How to get a security guard license in California

California licenses unarmed security guards individually. The credential is the Security Guard Registration (guard card), issued by the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS), California Department of Consumer Affairs.

Licensing agencyBureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS), California Department of Consumer Affairs official source
Credential for unarmed guardsSecurity Guard Registration (guard card) official source
Credential for armed guardsFirearms Permit (BSIS Exposed Firearms Permit) associated with the security guard registration official source
Minimum age, unarmed18 (BPC 7582.8) official source
Minimum age, armed21 (BPC 7542.2, 7583.23, 7596.3), US citizen or permanent legal immigration status official source
Training, unarmedPower to Arrest training (syllabus: 3 hours Power to Arrest + 5 hours Appropriate Use of Force = 8 hours) before registration is issued; then 32 hours of security officer skills within the first 6 months; then 8 hours continuing training annually official source
Training, armedFirearms Permit needs a Bureau-approved firearms course, written exam and range qualification; the initial course hours were not stated on the pages read (add-caliber requires at least 8 hours classroom). Renewal needs four range qualifications and a 2-hour use-of-force review course before each official source
Background checkYes: Live Scan fingerprints, California DOJ and FBI check (BPC 7581, 7583.9) official source
State feeUSD 60 (security guard initial application (fees on/after 1 Oct 2025; prior USD 55)); USD 44 (security guard renewal application (prior USD 40)); USD 69 (delinquent renewal (USD 44 + USD 25)); USD 110 (initial firearms permit application (prior USD 100)); USD 126 (firearms permit renewal (USD 88 renewal + USD 38 DOJ fee)); separate (Live Scan, DOJ and FBI processing fees are paid at fingerprinting (amount not on BSIS fee sheet)) official source
Renewal2 years (BSIS describes biennial renewal; firearms permit expires two years from issue). Not renewed within 60 days after expiry = canceled official source
Working while the application is pendingPartly: a person may work after BSIS approves the application and before the physical card arrives, carrying a printout of the Bureau's approval and photo ID (BPC 7583.17). Not stated as allowed before approval; power to arrest training must be completed before registration is issued official source

Checked against official California sources on Oct 18, 2026. Rules change: confirm with the licensing agency before you apply. This page lists only facts we could confirm on an official page.

Open security guard jobs in California

2,228 listings right now: see all.